The Optimism/Pessimism Game

I’m not sure when we started, but my son and I play this game that we made up (actually I made it up to teach him about perspective.) ┬áIt’s very easy and requires nothing more that a bit of creativity!

First, someone thinks of a scenario. Anything will do. My favorite, and probably the first one we used, was the rainy day. Then you compare what each viewpoint would be on looking out the window on said day.

The pessimist, in this case would bemoan the fact that they couldn’t go outside for fun activities or if they did, they would get wet.

The optimist would be happy that the plants were getting watered, one less thing to do today! Also, it could be a good excuse to get in some reading (or blogging!!) If it’s warm, why not play in the rain! That’s fun! (Can you tell my natural inclination?)

The possibilities are endless!! They are only limited by your imagination. My son came up with one that I thought was great! What if you were falling off a cliff? The pessimistic side is obvious (I’m going to die!!) His take on optimism was to enjoy the view on the way down! Brilliant!

I would like to play with you! What scenario would you like to bring up? What are the views on each side that you can come up with? Perhaps you can try and stump me on the optimistic side! That would be fun!

Published by

michelle213norton

I'm a 40 something mother of 1 who has worked hard to achieve a high level of health and fitness!!

2 thoughts on “The Optimism/Pessimism Game”

  1. Hi,
    I like your attitude that the glass is half filled. That is with the optimist would say.
    I met you at Danny Ray’s meet and greet. Maybe you can check out my blog if you need a blogging tip or two. That is what I write about. I brought you the link to my About Page so you can read more about my blog.
    http://wp.me/P6x6vQ-89
    That was nice of you to read blog his party.
    Janice

    Like

Leave a Reply

